Embracing Green Tea

A bright yellow light hit my eyes. Slowly, I open my eyes and roll my head over to check the time on my phone. Morning. Could careless to get up, but the luxury of sleeping in is no longer available.

In the kitchen, I put some water in the kettle. Waiting for it to boil, I grab the green tea with ginger bag. After pouring the hot water in my cup with the tea bag, I hold the cup and the smell hit my nose. I smile with a big grin and close my eyes before taking a sip.

Drinking green tea everyday is not a habit I regularly did before. Before, I would drink at least a can of soda everyday (so bad, but I did not care). Whenever I had to write papers, I would be up drinking over two cans. All that sugar kept me going, which I needed to endure boring lectures and school assignments.

However, since graduating college, my body has been fighting against me whenever I consume so much sugar. I become very tired and cranky. My energy level is so low that it is a struggle for me to function.

To change my habit, I have been substituting soda with green tea. Green tea has been shown to provide a variety of healthy benefits such as reducing cholesterol. Since drinking green tea, I have been feeling a lot more energetic and happier.

When I am writing or reading, I always have a cup of green tea on my desk. Drinking green tea eases my mind. I lose myself in my work while ignoring my phone.

Embracing green tea has been my life more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

