Lunch on Tennyson!

Confession: I have been anti-social lately. I have been a hermit at home. For New Year’s Eve, a friend was sweet enough to invite me out.

My effort in hanging out with people has been lacking.

However, I have been changing my social behavior slowly.

On Monday, my college pal Britt texted me late at night. We chatted for an hour. Then, she suggested that we get together for lunch!

We both agreed to have lunch at Parisi, best Italian restaurant in Denver! If you haven’t eaten there yet, go now!

When I was driving to Parisi, I exited the highway. Right as I exited, there was heavy construction on Lowell! I did not know why.

Traffic was not moving for a few minutes and I decided to find another way to Parisi.

Luckily, I arrived at Parisi 15 minutes early; I was paranoid about being late.

While waiting for Britt, I looked at the menu. Very indecisive on what to get, “Antipasta section? Nah to that. I want pasta since I’m at an Italian place!”

For a second, I put the menu down and Britt entered!

“Wearing the same outfit you wore in college.” I giggled. Britt was wearing an orange shirt, sweater, and sweats.

“Yeah.” Britt laughed. “The exact same outfit.”

She and I ordered. I decided to get the mushroom risotto! Been craving risotto for months.

75230_1683381405273749_4500978302362325068_n

 

Originally, the worker instructed us to sit a certain booth. Britt and I walked to the booth, but two old men were occupying it.

We decided to sit at another booth. A waiter smiled and said, “Wise decision.”

After we sat down, the waiter was very sweet to get us water.

Britt and I began talking about what we had been doing since graduation. I revealed, “Britt, I am glad that I still talk with you. I barely talk to anyone from Regis.” Britt admitted that she felt the same.

1917989_1683381411940415_6384905957285581520_n

Then, I said, “I don’t care to go to our college reunion.”

“Wait?” Britt asked. “We have a college reunion. I thought that was only for high school?”

“Yeah,” I responded. “They do a reunion for college too. I don’t care to go to ours. I don’t want to deal with people coming up to me and talking to me. I don’t care to pretend.”

“Pretend to be fake,” Britt joked.

“I don’t care to pretend,” I explained. “I don’t want to deal with people asking me, ‘Are you married? Do you have kids?’ See, people have not asked for my number or bothered Facebooking me.”

Britt was laughing. She said, “Same!”

“If we actually ever go, I will stick with you!” I screamed.

“I would have you speaking for me, since we talk everyday,” Britt joked.

Our lunch was lovely! The risotto was creamy and fulling. Being healthy was the last thing on my mind at that moment.

After lunch, we walked around Tennyson. The Book Bar had a sick mural of Harry Potter with Cat in the Hat! My childhood in one image!

12508766_1683381281940428_69274403480594711_n

535282_1683381381940418_670358908705927334_n

We checked out the Book Bar for a bit and the children section was adorable.

1918276_1683381485273741_3279678759771215293_n

My afternoon with Britt was lovely and it reminded me to make time for friends. Being alone too much is not healthy for the soul.

 

Leave a Reply

