Finally Jumping On the Korean Beauty Care Madness

This isn’t a paid sponsored post. I’ve included links to the products in case people were interested. The pics of my face are completely unedited.

When I visited Seoul for vacation during my junior year of college, advertisements of skin care, including for men, were everywhere.

I quickly realized how much Koreans value physical beauty.

10442418_1424743827804176_1582807668128259321_n

While visiting somebody at Korea University, a foreign girl told me a crazy fact: In Korea, people will sue a cosmetic company if the product doesn’t work. When she told me that, I thought that was extreme. That wouldn’t normally happen in America.

I completely forgot about Korean beauty products until the former academic dean from my study abroad program in Beijing sent me an article about guys doing the Korean beauty care routine. My jaw dropped when I read about guys using five different products in the morning and night. I thought, “Ain’t nobody got time for that!”

Korean beauty care wasn’t on my mind until I read Fashionista.com article on recommended Korean products.

Dealing with terrible skin has been a normal part of my life. During the summers, my skin got so oily. Besides summer times, my skin would be so dry and rough. Having dark circles did not help much.

IMG_2986
My face before trying Glow Recipe

I decided to click on it and found out about the company Glow Recipe. I browsed through their website and was amazed how much info they had on routines and what products to use.

After doing a Google search on Glow Recipe, I found a video they did with the YouTube Channel DramaFever.

The co-founders were educating the guys, who clearly knew nothing about skin care (I’m guilty of this too). When founders Sarah and Christine brought out the kelp mask, I so wanted it.

I got online and found the kelp mask. When I saw the price tag, I thought, “$14 for a face mask?!? It better be worth it.” That seemed a bit expensive, but the mask seemed to worked on the guy in the video. So, I decided to splurge on it to try it once.

IMG_3029

A week later my package from Glow Recipe arrived.

IMG_3026

To my surprise, they gave me a few samples.

IMG_3027

My first step was applying the trans form cleaning oil.

IMG_3028

I was always told that oil was bad for the skin. Until I read online that using oil helps clean the skin and preventing it from getting dry.

I applied the trans form cleaning oil over my face before wetting my hands to scrub my face. Then I rinsed my face before patting it dry with a towel. Patting the face prevents the face from getting roughed up.

Finally, I decided to try the kelp face mask. When I opened it, it for sure smelt like the sea. The face mask was a bit sticky due to the bamboo serum.

While wearing the face mask for 15 minutes, I sent a pic of me wearing it to my friend.

IMG_3019

She texted, “Hahahahahah you look like a sea monster!!”

After 15 minutes, I peeled the mask off. Then I patted the leftover serum on top of my face.

The next morning, my skin wasn’t feeling dry anymore! The $14 was worth it.

IMG_3023

I was quite pleased so much with the kelp mask, I’ve decided to add the 8 kelp masks for $40 deal to my shopping cart on the website. I plan to buy it once I get my next paycheck!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

